Angebote zu "Roof" (16 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Abdullah, Achmed: The Bungalow on the Roof
44,19 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Erscheinungsdatum: 01.02.2008, Medium: Buch, Einband: Gebunden, Titel: The Bungalow on the Roof, Autor: Abdullah, Achmed, Verlag: Wildside Press, Sprache: Englisch, Schlagworte: JUVENILE FICTION // General, Rubrik: Kinder- und Jugendbücher, Seiten: 284, Informationen: HC gerader Rücken kaschiert, Gewicht: 515 gr, Verkäufer: averdo

Anbieter: averdo
Stand: 12.08.2020
Zum Angebot
The Bungalow on the Roof
38,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Bungalow on the Roof ab 38.99 € als gebundene Ausgabe: . Aus dem Bereich: Bücher, English, International, Gebundene Ausgaben,

Anbieter: hugendubel
Stand: 12.08.2020
Zum Angebot
The Bungalow , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 501min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In the summer of 1942, 21 year-old Anne Calloway, newly engaged, sets off to serve in the Army Nurse Corps on the Pacific island of Bora Bora. More exhilarated by the adventure of a lifetime than she ever was by her predictable fiance, she is drawn to a mysterious soldier named Westry, and their friendship soon blossoms into hues as deep as the hibiscus flowers native to the island. Under the thatched roof of an abandoned beach bungalow, the two share a private world--until they witness a gruesome crime, Westry is suddenly redeployed, and the idyll vanishes into the winds of war.A timeless story of enduring passion, The Bungalow chronicles Anne's determination to discover the truth about the twin losses--of life, and of love--that have haunted her for 70 years. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Gin Hammond. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/live/000451/bk_live_000451_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 12.08.2020
Zum Angebot
The Bungalow (eBook, ePUB)
5,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A sweeping World War II saga of thwarted love, murder, and a long-lost painting.In the summer of 1942, twenty-one-year-old Anne Calloway sets off to serve in the Army Nurse Corps on the Pacific island of Bora-Bora. Exhilarated by the adventure of a lifetime she is drawn to a mysterious soldier named Westry. As their friendship blossoms into hues as deep as the hibiscus flowers native to the island, the two share a private world under the thatched roof of an abandoned beach bungalow making promises about after. But then they witness a gruesome crime, Westry is suddenly redeployed, and the idyll they built together vanishes into the winds of war.Seventy years later, Anne still cannot let go of that long-ago summer and the twin losses of her life. Is it finally time to uncover the truth or will she continue to be haunted by what she lost? A timeless story of enduring passion and determination to discover the truth decades later. Perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Barbara O'Neal and Amanda Prowse.

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 12.08.2020
Zum Angebot
The Bungalow (eBook, ePUB)
5,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A sweeping World War II saga of thwarted love, murder, and a long-lost painting.In the summer of 1942, twenty-one-year-old Anne Calloway sets off to serve in the Army Nurse Corps on the Pacific island of Bora-Bora. Exhilarated by the adventure of a lifetime she is drawn to a mysterious soldier named Westry. As their friendship blossoms into hues as deep as the hibiscus flowers native to the island, the two share a private world under the thatched roof of an abandoned beach bungalow making promises about after. But then they witness a gruesome crime, Westry is suddenly redeployed, and the idyll they built together vanishes into the winds of war.Seventy years later, Anne still cannot let go of that long-ago summer and the twin losses of her life. Is it finally time to uncover the truth or will she continue to be haunted by what she lost? A timeless story of enduring passion and determination to discover the truth decades later. Perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Barbara O'Neal and Amanda Prowse.

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 12.08.2020
Zum Angebot
On Swift Horses
12,53 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A Lambda Literary Award Finalist, 2020. A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice. Named a Most Anticipated Book of Fall by The New York Times, Real Simple, Electric Literature, and more. "Cinematic . . . The spaces she creates for her characters . . . have the aura of realms." -The New York Times Book Review A lonely newlywed and her wayward brother-in-law follow divergent and dangerous paths through the postwar American West. Muriel is newly married and restless, transplanted from her rural Kansas hometown to life in a dusty bungalow in San Diego. The air is rich with the tang of salt and citrus, but the limits of her new life seem to be closing in: She misses her freethinking mother, dead before Muriel's nineteenth birthday, and her sly, itinerant brother-in-law, Julius, who made the world feel bigger than she had imagined. And so she begins slipping off to the Del Mar racetrack to bet and eavesdrop, learning the language of horses and risk. Meanwhile, Julius is testing his fate in Las Vegas, working at a local casino where tourists watch atomic tests from the roof, and falling in love with Henry, a young card cheat. When Henry is eventually discovered and run out of town, Julius takes off to search for him in the plazas and dives of Tijuana, trading one city of dangerous illusions and indiscretions for another. On Swift Horses is a debut of astonishing power: a story of love and luck, of two people trying to find their place in a country that is coming apart even as it promises them everything.

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 12.08.2020
Zum Angebot
On Swift Horses
12,53 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A Lambda Literary Award Finalist, 2020. A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice. Named a Most Anticipated Book of Fall by The New York Times, Real Simple, Electric Literature, and more. "Cinematic . . . The spaces she creates for her characters . . . have the aura of realms." -The New York Times Book Review A lonely newlywed and her wayward brother-in-law follow divergent and dangerous paths through the postwar American West. Muriel is newly married and restless, transplanted from her rural Kansas hometown to life in a dusty bungalow in San Diego. The air is rich with the tang of salt and citrus, but the limits of her new life seem to be closing in: She misses her freethinking mother, dead before Muriel's nineteenth birthday, and her sly, itinerant brother-in-law, Julius, who made the world feel bigger than she had imagined. And so she begins slipping off to the Del Mar racetrack to bet and eavesdrop, learning the language of horses and risk. Meanwhile, Julius is testing his fate in Las Vegas, working at a local casino where tourists watch atomic tests from the roof, and falling in love with Henry, a young card cheat. When Henry is eventually discovered and run out of town, Julius takes off to search for him in the plazas and dives of Tijuana, trading one city of dangerous illusions and indiscretions for another. On Swift Horses is a debut of astonishing power: a story of love and luck, of two people trying to find their place in a country that is coming apart even as it promises them everything.

Anbieter: buecher
Stand: 12.08.2020
Zum Angebot
The Bungalow on the Roof
39,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Bungalow on the Roof ab 39.49 EURO

Anbieter: ebook.de
Stand: 12.08.2020
Zum Angebot
The Bungalow on the Roof
68,90 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Achmed Abdullah's name was once synonymous with adventure. He published dozens of novels and hundreds of short stories in the pulp magazines of the early 20th century, thrilling millions of readers throughout the world.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 12.08.2020
Zum Angebot